Into the heart

Blue tinged confines
of words followed straight like an arrow
into the heart
of a cold world moment,
I sit on edge
unable to look away
wishing I knew this child,
that perhaps I could have stopped
the sadness of this tragedy
but worlds away
I can only now read and see
that change must come.
What is it within
that makes the evil rise
like cream to the top,
curdled and sour
vile to the tongue
these too often happenings
leave behind in their wake
a longing for the light to shine,
to melt this heartless world
that treats the smallest
as expendable for difference,
for annihilation just because.
I stand here beneath a sun
on a day cool and beautiful,
breathing in the freshness
and high in my land of abundance,
yet a piece is now on the floor
shattered by a face with a name
and I cannot let go of that smile,
cannot forget what has been.

This post was prompted after reading a heartbreaking post by my friend Tre about a young boy murdered for who they thought he was. So sad…..if you feel you wish to read about what inspired this piece, please find it here. Heartbreaking. Thank you Tre for bringing this to light. The world needs to bring light to expel the darkness of evil.

https://acorneredgurl.com/2018/10/27/i-want-my-mom