breadcrumbs

We leave them behind
The trail to mark
Where we have been
How to return
As we wander the world
Searching for
The candy house
Of dreams.
We are starving
And know that out there
Is all we desire.
We can always return
Following the breadcrumbs,
The links,
The tail of the fable
Yet we are lost
Caught in our greedy desire
We need to stop
Rest a moment
And breathe deeply
The forest scent,
We must escape the witch that pursues
Our waking dreams
To realize
The nightmares are often
Our own making.
We have gone too far
And the path has been devoured
By the creatures in the woods
Who are just as
Hungry too.

In the dog house….again

The rain in buckets
Yet you want to play
Again
To be out
In this weather.
Open door you run free
To the woods beyond
Around the frozen pond
Gone
Gone
Where do you go silly dog,
The time draws near for
Skunk and coon
To awaken
I pray you stay away while you run.
Calling, a minute turns to two, five, ten….
I wonder why you don’t come when I call?

Last year you wouldn’t be
Caught dead getting wet
No my pretty,
That’s not for you.
Now each day you run
Rain,snow,sunshine
It’s all the same to you.
Searching for that elusive
Chase toy,
The scent of fresh cat finds
In the dirt
Away away you run,
Finally returning as if to say
Did you miss me?
I missed you,
Now give me a biscuit
Post haste.