Lyrics of my life #2

“But perhaps the dream
Is dreaming us
Soaring with the seagulls
Perhaps the dream
Is dreaming us
Astride the backs of eagles”

When the angels fall -Sting

If I had a dollar for every time I listened to the album The Soul Cages by Sting, I would be rich indeed. I’ve always been moved by tragic/melancholy/tear your heart out by its roots music but it charges me up in a way, gets the creative juices flowing so to speak and for that, I will keep on listening to what inspires. I watched as it won for album of the year and  at the time wasn’t even familiar with it or any of its songs, but if it won, it must have been good so I trekked down to the local music store and bought it. Never regretted that decision and it’s still a main staple to this day. I chose the image because as a new college student, I found the best writing I did was when spending time amongst the ghosts of the dead in cemeteries. I remember having my headphones on one particular sunny spring day, my black mohawk falling over my eyes as I concocted stories for a class about a boy named Alec. I was listening to Barbara Streisand singing how there was a place for us (Somewhere?) and the instruments building in sound as the cicadas hummed filled my heart with such a joy. I knew at that point that this was what I wanted to do, this is what filled me, writing in peace with a passion. I only wish this album had been out then…but then again, I could be working in a shipyard building boats instead. I didn’t use Barbara  here….no judgements needed…all music is good 🙂 Peace and love my friends, welcome to my world of what inspires.