A New Kind of Down: The Breath & Bones of a Writer (a book review)

I am not normally known for doing book reviews as you all know, but every now and then when I actually find the time to read one from cover to cover without wanting to set it down and walk away, then the time is prime for a review. I ordered Tremaine’s book on Amazon a few weeks ago and have now gone through it not once but twice. I was already familiar with Tre (as she’s known over at her blog which can be found at https://simplesoulsister.com) and her writing, and of course her tales of life with her cute little dog Jernee over at her other blog https://ajerneeofsurprises.wordpress.com and as a fellow dog lover I am often tickled by the antics of her “globe eyed little monster” and have become a dedicated follower of her blogs. This is the first book I’ve purchased by Tre and let me say, I have no regrets what-so-ever. Opening my mailbox to find the brown envelope from Amazon was only the first happy point of receiving it, and upon further inspection as I sat down with my coffee, gazing at the peaceful image on the cover and reading the bio on the back, I couldn’t wait to dive right in. I did not put it down once. This is her third book and not having read the other two (yet) I can’t do a comparason but I know for me, third time’s a charm and trust me, I was charmed.

I can tell that this book was a labor of love and it shows. While reading it, I felt as if I was peering into her heart with each word she wrote, and it often took me back in time to that of my own life, remembering my younger days and the emotion and passion that slipped into each relationship, failed or otherwise that was a lesson in and of itself. The pain spelled out like a story of love held me captivated from beginning to the end, always hoping in my way for the starry happy outcome, I was left cheering her on to bigger, better and amazing things for her future. The poem “Realizing Reality” was exceptional (page 7) and Get High (Get Gone) was a sultry little piece that made me smile. Without a Doubt (page 40) was another piece that flowed splendidly and spoke to my soul, reminding me of me when I was in my youth, the longing of love and the way she writes it out, is almost as if she’s speaking directly to you, reminding you of the feelings of life and love that we all at one time or another have felt. It’s not often that a writer can slip you into their world so effortlessly and taking you along on the journey with them. There were so many pieces here filled with such brutal truth and deep substance that I could go on and on but I leave you to grab your copy and judge for yourself. I wouldn’t want to give away all the goods but this, this is the essence to me. The one sentence from Fool for it all, Including You sums up my favorite phrase: “We are in Amazement. Standing among greats in a tiny space, Searching for gems. I rely on the Sanity of love’s Grasp in the middle of time and space….and here, I always seem to find it.”     In her writing, I found a place, a space where the heart lives and breathes.

Her writing in this book is a compilation of free verse, quatrains, haiku and flash fiction. with each piece so unique and beautifully written from the heart. I can tell time was taken with this book, the flow of it and the rise and fall like the tides of the heart, like a beat or pulse in each piece, bringing it to life with her touch. I honor this book and the soul that wrote it, knowing it will be kept on the special shelf in my blue room which houses the sacred books that touch me. This book was published and available through Lulu and is also available on Amazon (links below) and I believe at Barnes and Noble. I highly recommend Tremaines book and know that if you grab a copy, you too will feel the passion of love and loss stir in your soul…and perhaps like it was for me, a heavy sigh as the last page finished and a feeling of leaving me longing for more, even if just a page or two or ten.

https://www.amazon.com/New-Kind-Down-Breath-Writer/dp/1365849945/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1495115438&sr=8-1&keywords=books+by+Tremaine+Loadholt

http://www.lulu.com/shop/tremaine-loadholt/a-new-kind-of-down-the-breath-bones-of-a-writer/ebook/product-23129241.html

Rating: Five out of five stars

8 thoughts on “A New Kind of Down: The Breath & Bones of a Writer (a book review)

  1. I’m so happy to see this Kim. TrE writes two of my favorite blogs. (As are you 😊). You can’t read her work and not know who she is. I’m going to have to mosy on to Amazon and buy her books. Thanks so much fort this.

    Like

  2. I will have to order the other two at some point, any particular reason why the first was the fave? Or just the fact that it was the first? Always exciting I’m sure😊💕

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am most proud of it, Kim. I truly am. It is my 2nd favorite. The first book is my most favorite. I am trying to take it all in and to be honest, that’s a task. Sometimes, I am far too hard on myself and I feel it can be better. Who knows? I may do a fourth, but I do not think so. Thank you so much, Kim. I love you dearly. I surely do.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved it, its still sitting in reaching range….not relegated to the shelf yet….still re reading passages ❤ It is an excellent piece of work Tre and you should be proud of your accomplishment ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. KIM!!! Aww, thank you so much! I am truly taken aback by both you and Mags’ actions regarding this book. I thank you so much, Kim. You are a wonder to me and I find myself learning from you day in and day out. Thank you for your review of ANKOD and I am glad you enjoyed it. That makes me very happy.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....