Harvest moon verse

Silhouettes of trees stand guard
Over dreams of nights lit by
A thousand fireflies rising
Crackling like a first fall fire
And the moon perched,
watching,
The scenes of acts played out
Of visions created in sleepless minds
And the body that often feels so tired
Moving through to touch
The earth
Gathering ashes to form
Castles of nothing.
I watch you come to me
Sweet moon on high you cast aside
Your robes of clouds
Naked for my eyes,
My thoughts to fantasize
Of similar nights
And words spoken
And those left unsaid.
I sleep beneath your eternal gaze
And wake to find the lavender pink
Filtered through a haze
Of this morning as she wakes
And I miss you in this moment
Yet know you shall return to find me waiting,
Spinning endless verse
On the beauty and gifts you bestow
To my heart and eternal soul
Left waiting
For a dream of knowing simmering below
In The vision of a dreamer
Awake and sleeping through
A thought of a mad man moon.

“Within the valley of shadowless death
They pray for thunderclouds and rain,
But to the multitude who stand in the rain
Heaven is where the sun shines.
The grass will be greener till the stems turn to brown
And thoughts will fly higher till the earth brings them down.
Forever caught in desert lands one has to learn
To disbelieve the sea.”
Genesis. Mad Man Moon