Changes in life

I am always amazed by the twists and turns that this wild ride called life take us on. Less than a year ago I had a job in the manufacturing sector, I was a salaried person who enjoyed some aspects of my work but hated the stress of it. After moving to Florida and taking off almost 8 months of not working I decided it was time to get back out and do something, anything for that matter. I grew tired of idly sitting by and swimming and beach going and even writing can only take me so far. I posted applications for jobs that I thought would suit me, similar in a way to what I was doing but then some that were so far removed as to be almost what I thought a bit embarrassing. I posted my resume with a company and in ten minutes received a phone call of interest. Now I’ve worked in manufacturing for 17 years, a manager at a pizzeria for 10 prior to that. I’ve worked since I was 15 years old as I was taught that I needed to take responsibility for my life, make money, get an education, etc….but I was never taught that I needed to enjoy it or have fun doing it.

Imagine my surprise now, having worked my job for two events so far and what a pleasure it is. No stress really (except for setup), and I am working at a Walmart but not for Walmart. I stand and hand out treats, snacks, coffee, etc….today will be my third day and once again am doing coffee but this time with Torani flavorings, Toasted Marshmallow, Bourbon Caramel and sugar-free S’Mores, and to go with Anna’s Ginger and Orange flavored thins cookies. I am excited lately again. I get to go to work and get paid to talk to over 200+ people each day, make them laugh and smile, I’ve even sold the product too and nothing makes me happier as when a customer circles back, holds up the box and yells over to me “I found it” and puts it in their cart. I get paid to have fun, to see smiles and yes, even to listen to the music on the overhead speakers and I dance a bit and sing to myself….and I get paid for this. Where has this job been all of my life? Now true, I’m not going to make millions but really, I have gotten to the point where if I can go to bed at night and know I did good, made someone laugh and generally had an awesome day, how can one go wrong? I had to change my mindset….get beyond the “I’m working at Walmart, sigh…” mentality and just do my best and enjoy. To be grateful and humble and truly excited to rise knowing today I’m going to see a new flock of faces and come home smelling like sweet coffee and cookies, I’ll take it. As my buddy Tre says, it’s truly the little things….and what truth that is. I’ll save a cookie for you my friends, sorry but the coffee won’t stay hot long….have an amazing day 🙂

Moments in life

Three am…..the blue flicker from the room beyond

television surfing channels

eyes open to slowly register

who is up,

who is watching…..

He stumbles into the living room

dog sits up as if caught in the act,

the channel changes once more

perhaps to hide the show watched?

Animal planet voyeurism perhaps?

Dog runs to bed like a small child caught in the act,

the remote lay lifeless in the divit where the dog had lain,

everyone awake now

as the girl curls up on the bed to sleep once more-

husband now wide eyed and alert

no more sleep for him

as I flip over and resume my dreams.

Apparently the remote was left on the couch and the surround sound left on when we went to bed last night, Apple having her doggie dreams maybe? rolled onto the remote which turned the tv on and then the surfing of channels began. Still chuckling about it this morning as I write this. I slept like a baby after that, many dreams and solid sleep. Poor hubby not so lucky.