Hodgepodge Sunday

Walking in the cool of daybreak
Pre morning sunrise
Light enough to see
Breathing in the cool damp air
Stretch to the sky
Feeling the joints creak and groan
But just one of those moments
To feel so alive.
Sunny today and work to be done
But play will come later
In the warm summer sun.
Maybe a ride to the lake
On the steel horse to
Sit and watch the boats drift by
Like tiny white triangles afar
Moving across hazy horizons.
Looking up to see the birds so high
Like fresh ground pepper
In a salt white clouded sky.
But for now to sit and sip
The coffee so hot but the smell
Still lingers in the air
Of a fresh morning brew,
Cat on lap
Two pups beside
As hubby reads the news
I sit and write to you
Of plans and feelings
And senses slowly waking
To wonder of all the day will bring,
To be in a moment
To let it be
On a hodgepodge Sunday morning.

I was thinking earlier about the tv show hodgepodge lodge, a tv show when I was a kid. Miss Jean would show us nature, her voice so calm and soothing. I lived in the country so there wasn’t much new for me to see, I wanted cartoons and loud colorful shows. Funny now as I have gotten older, I take more time to enjoy the world of nature. To walk amongst the trees and marvel at a sun rising through the forest.

14 thoughts on “Hodgepodge Sunday

  1. Thank you – I will pass on the hug. Been a difficult weekend for her thanks to fireworks. But her bros return tonight. This will undoubtedly lift her spirits:) and I get my bed back!!!!!

    Like

  2. Very lovely. I used to love the morning cartoons….now I enjoy the peace and quiet. I a sitting at my kitchen table, with Pee lying by my feet, drinking my coffee and hanging out with my WP family. There is tweeting outside and a feeling of calm that only arrives with a Sunday morning. So relaxing…..I wish I could bottle it up:)

    Like

  3. Beautiful poem.
    As you probably know, I love nature poems and write them myself. Nature is such a magical and important thing, and the more people write about it, the better. I think, or at least I hope, that writing about nature will help us save our natural world.
    By the way, thank you for liking so many of my poems. I would love it if you would comment on them. Take care.

    Like

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....