Purple hat

She sits in her chair

needles moving in and out with rhythm

only she hears as her tired hands feed

her purple hat of love.

Her hair falls out piece by piece

until she shears it into emptiness

falling at her feet she knows it will return

someday once more.

Six long months as the winter snow falls

she wears it as she stands beneath the skies

her universe swirling all around her

but her faith guides her forward.

Where has that time gone she wonders

as she tucks the cap away with one last breath

she smells the clean fresh scent

no longer reminiscent of the poisons it once caught.

Reminders of years long gone

and no longer in use it waits patiently

her reminder of love woven into each loop

by her mother’s hand,

she is strong now and free of the murderous cells

and yet she still wonders her purpose

as she writes in the darkness

her hands moving on keys

keeping rhythm to the sound only she hears

as her lullaby to yesterday plays out

and she smiles for she is blessed

and she has not forgotten

the purple hat or all of the love sent

to her through the years.

Reminiscing earlier as I was in a thrift store I saw a cap similar to one my mother made me back when I had cancer. I still have the hat my mom made but was surprised I couldn’t recall the year I went through chemo, was it 9 or 10?years ago? and then thinking it really doesn’t matter for it too (the cancer) was a gift, enabling me to begin writing once more, to look at life much differently and with a peace and joy in my heart, and in knowing there was a higher purpose for me, that I had things to do. Chemo began after Christmas and lasted into June….so long ago, but really in the big scheme of things, such a short bit ago.