Hubby prompt

I asked my hubby for a prompt
As he terrorized the kitchen
With sharpest of implements
With evil grin replied
Tater pancakes.
Now don’t get me wrong
I can be creative
But spud taters just ain’t one of ’em
I replied….
As my house was overwhelmed
With a sheen of greasy smoke….
Ok dear lord
I thought
As the pup hid behind the chair…
No fear,
No fire there,
Just Polish greasy goodness
Await in’ on the sour cream
(Or scream’ as I like to call it)
There went the candle scents,
There went the tidy kitchen,
Of which I will gladly tidy,
For home made tater cakes
Just make me smile….
My clothes will smell
For quite awhile,
But the season is in
She says with a grin,
Just don’t be expecting that bikini
In a few weeks time,
Tater pancakes
Bust a rhyme….

Sorry ’bout that folks….
Need to explain….
‘Twas all his fault….
But damn, can he cook.

Face

You stare
Gazing as they walk to you,
Are you welcoming,
Are you closed tight
Your emotions do not betray
So much
Except a face
Where none should be.
Would you wink
If the sun was shining,
Do you close them tight
When you sleep at night?
Do you yawn a welcoming hello
Rustled from your slumber
By unexpected guests
That stumble upon
Your stone step.
Does your head echo
With each rap of the knocker
And do you allow entrance.
Your face I see
And it baffles me so,
Which way to go
Which way to go.

Holy cow (NaPoWriMo day 16)

Hello there new farmer,
Bet you want to try to milk my tail again.
Did you know that my favorite food is Brie and blue cheese?
And that once upon a time I had a baby mule cow,
He looked a lot like me, really he did.
But they came and took him away to live in a palace,
See that tower behind me?
That’s where the rich cow lives now.
They named him the king of the land,
Now I am left here grazing on eggshells
In a frozen meadow filled with rattlesnakes.
Hey, did you know
I have a niece who is black on the front and back
And white striped in her middle,
She is a crazy cow breed
And she makes half and half.
Makes me jealous I tell ya.
Totally.
Well, back to my snacks,
Later.

image

And now for today’s prompt (optional, as always). After yesterday’s form-based prompt, today’s will hopefully be somewhat easier to get into. This prompt is from Daisy Fried, and the basic idea is to write a ten-line poem in which each line is a lie. Your lies could be silly, complicated, tricky, or obvious.