Smoke rising

Outlined against the sky
Tendrils rise
Licking the atmosphere
Here then gone
A replacement
Cannot be found.
The scent curls into
The nostrils
Burning slightly
Step away
Breathe
In
Out
Inhale fresh
Cloud of emptiness
Pure air.
The air heavy
The cloud drifts low to the ground
Marking a passage
Of some form of life
Close by working
With fire
And smoke
Weber dreams
Reality.

Don’t worry babe, not burning the turkey…..yet.

Lost in a song

Somewhere in a song
I caught a glimpse of yesterday
Melody so haunting
It took my breath away.
Carry me down to a beaten path
Footprints line the way
The sun so high
The water so cold
Nothing like today.
You held my hand
At the waters edge
The skies so clear and bright,
Kiss me now
My thoughts sang out
Or would you even try?
I looked so deep into your eyes
Lost in a smile so calm
Drifting away
To that yesterday
In such a soothing song.
Oh where did I lose
Those carefree days
Spent dreaming of summer nights?
I sit here lonely
Another day beneath the raining skies,
I call your name
To melodies
To solitary sounds,
That close my eyes
I cry inside
Lost in a sad old song.

Is this just a twist of fate
That yesterday’s bestowed
On souls swept off in songs of life
And soft sweet melodies,
To take us back to other times
Moments in our minds,
And lead us into dreamscape lands
Where love is not denied.

Of sun filled days
And river runs
Beneath the midnight sky
To floating off beneath a cloud
Of years too long gone by.
Sing to me this song I hear
Like lullabies at night
Whisper softly once again,
Farewell my love
My life.

Thai sonnet (NaPoWriMo)

Swimming in an ocean of coconut sauce
Squid so round, resembled spaghetti os for adults,
Jalapeño circles, flowers to the eye
Pink shrimp tails waving as they dive
Under the corn and bean
Scallop cut in two.

Mussels, floating long green boats
Sit idly by waiting
For the content to be rescued
Savored on the tongue
Then swallowed.

NaPoWriMo day 26- the curtal sonnet is shorter than the normal, fourteen line sonnet. Instead it has a first stanza of six lines, followed by a second stanza of four, and then closes with a half-line.
Dinner last night was a wonderful seafood blend in a coconut home style sauce, which is where my thought pattern emerged. Beautiful food and spectacular flavor.

image