Simply life

You are the flower
Sewing seeds upon this world
Giving life
Where emptiness had been found.
Heart laid bare
Surviving the days
Moving forward
Regaining the semblance of order
When needed most.
I come to you
Words trying to convey calm
As I feel you hold me from behind
Tears falling free
No judgement just raw emotion
And the fear that is spoken
I cast aside
As I am not ready yet to let this moment pass,
The feel of you holding me
An adult yet still the child
Hanging on to composure
Not letting you see
The tipping point of tears,
No, not yet,
This is not the time
For goodbyes,
Just a simple life I love you
From daughter to mother.
We’ve been down this road before,
Strewn with the silence of tomorrow,
Holding back to go the distance,
As you sat by my side,
Chemicals invading each inch
As red poison flowed through
You held my hand
You were the strength
You were there simply being you.
I will be there
Not deserting my post
To hold your hand or dry your tears
To be the one this time round,
Simply life moments
That come and go for each of us,
Just a simple love from the deepest wells
Full of wishes.
Tomorrow will dawn clear,
Sunshine will come and bestow the gifts
Of bigger and better days
And we will be there together,
Walking your garden
And plucking a bloom,
Reveling in the beauty of this life,
Grateful for the simplicity
Of a love born so long ago
That nothing,
Not even time or age
Can ever destroy.

10 thoughts on “Simply life

  1. Thanks Laine, she is still a bit groggy but going home soon. She will need surgery to put leg vein in place where blockage is, 84% blocked. 2-3 weeks and back for more intense surgery. But the sun is shining and we made her smile a lot:)

    Like

  2. I hope the doctors will came up with the best solution for her. I’ll pray with you for the best outcome. Sending you a positive thoughts, my friend.:)

    Like

  3. Thanks Kat, decision made tomorrow, unable to stent, too treacherous , on bed rest but blood pressure a bit low. Keeping her company with my sisters:) thanks for the support my friend.

    Like

  4. She was there for my chemo, then i kicked her out to go shopping and keep busy and buy me things too of course:) she was pretty upset yesterday and when I told her I would be there she was just smiling and looking relieved:) pray for great surgeons and happy days:) thanks Fawn 🙂

    Like

  5. Oh, this makes my heart ache. When my mother was undergoing chemo, I was busy keeping all the plates balanced in my marriage and teenager-mothering. She assured me that I belonged at home (my dad and brother were with her), but part of me still regrets not being with her then. Your poem is beautiful, as is the illustration. Hugs to you – Fawn

    Like

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....