And there I became one

Beyond the shallow edges of sleep

There arose in a dream the floating essence

Rocking gently below a star filled sky

Adrift to anywhere my thoughts wandered

On glistening waves

Finding my way home.

It was there that I fell into a darkness so deep

Like midnight seasons with no moon in sight,

Falling below the thick night air

Moisture saturating my soul.

In a far away place I came to stop

Endless beaches with no souls in sight,

Just sand as far as I could sea

Beckoning me to walk awhile.

I came to a fire that glowed in solemn silence,

No prints to mark another’s passing,

Just a small stack of wood ready

A place to sit and rest a spell.

I began to hum a song from long ago,

From years before I became this being,

A song of longing and lost thoughts found

The words still eluding me,

Yet on each breath I felt the strength find me,

Images came to mark the destiny

And I knew that this was where I was meant to be

And it was there that I became whole.

I returned to the vessel that carried me

Once more back into the endless opening

And rocking once more on the gentle waves

Back and forth drifting

Alive below a million stars that sang to me

The words I had lost

That would finally show me

The direction home.

Gorgeous image found on Pinterest.

9 thoughts on “And there I became one

  1. Thanks Tre, so glad you enjoyed it. Was in that happy place in my mind yesterday, and most days for that matter. Enjoying the flow of the days and getting back to self with joy😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This reads like an amazing sunset. All of the imagery, the peacefulness, the moments of rest. Beautiful, yes, just like a sunset.

    Liked by 1 person

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....