Searching dreams-NaPoWriMo-D12

In not quite solid form I moved through

Dreams like chapters of a much loved tale,

Every page different

Filled with the magic of color and feeling

As I stood like a fan

At a school yard game.

I reached out to touch

The finest things that I saw beyond me

And watched as each piece I handled

Slipped away into ghostly mist

Illusions at a magic show

Like a disappearing elephant

Unreal yet I knew it had been there

Hadn’t it?

Stolen thoughts capturing fears

Leading me through the wonderland of mirages

And I knew each chapter

As if inscribed somewhere in the forgotten recesses

Of a weary mind.

So I travelled through each page,

Flip, flip, staring at the artistic beauty

Of each panoramic illustration

Realizing that in each image

There I stood in wonder

Smiling like a child who finally sees

Everything coming together under the big top

As the elephant reappears

Reaching out a trunk as if to say

Follow me

Come quick before I disappear once more,

You are what keeps me here after all,

Your dream IS real,

It is everything.

I chose not to follow today’s prompt, after a night of strange and many dreams…had to get back to a little of me.

  

12 thoughts on “Searching dreams-NaPoWriMo-D12

  1. I had a lot of dreams last night too. Unusual for me. I feel sort of in them still.
    Great poem!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I also move off prompt but normally if I’m not comfortable with it or if I write something that I feel really needs to be published that day! The prompts are optional after all, so as long as we publish one piece per day, all the realities should be happy! 😀🙌🎆

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you Rob, yes, I often wonder that myself….it’s been awhile since I’ve had so many dreams and remembered most of them in one night….had to get back to me a bit…hence not following the prompt….feels freeing in a way😊 home, yes😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Like this, especially “you are what keeps me here after all ‘. Are our dreams illusion or what we accept as reality? And, in that space, things are forever changing… Ah… Home! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....