Into the calm

I stood there, so quiet and calm as each wave washed over my legs. The soft and warm silky water pushed me back and forth, it’s rhythm of life edging me into a calm and peaceful place. The water a pale green blue twinkling in the sun that finally deemed to show her beauteous face, although I was on a quest for clouds to keep the heat at bay, the sun shone mild and welcoming.

 I was here today alone, collecting my thoughts as much as searching for more sharks teeth, the smooth black or brown objects that often escape my reach, and I was still afraid to venture in past my ankles lest the real thing finds me dallying and decides to take a bite. I stood in the rushing waters as they moved about me, like a cosmic dance unfolding, swirling in and out without anyone to give a numeric score to our tango, and I saw a dolphin a few yards out crest on a wave, and I wondered if it were perhaps just my imagination or was it in fact a fin playfully moving on its way to somewhere far from here, for it did not resurface for a second glance, like life, it just kept moving forward.

I stood amongst a thousand shells, a perfect place I imagined for finding my teeth and I just let the moment carry me, teaching me patience if nothing else. I sat my belongings down beneath a tree that had succumbed to the ravages of erosion long before today, watching for something new to see and entranced by a taped off area marked that it is indeed a sea turtles nest. Not close enough, respecting the distance, I planted my items and ventured back out to the salty waves, and then I waited. I stood there admiring the skies, the color of each foamy see through gossamer wave that splashed upon me and I looked down the expanse of the beach to see no one. Deserted on one end of any life and I settled in to find what I was searching for, plastic bag in hand. One after another they found me there. I didn’t move too far, I didn’t go on an endless disapointing quest, I instead became patient, following the ebb and flow of the tides and waited. Time passed me by and I thought of nothing, and I found everything.

I found emptiness here on this stretch of beach. A soul encouraging emptiness, void of conversation, time schedules, things that needed to be done, everything became absent. I found tooth after tooth as they washed up and I watched, simply waiting. Come to me if you will I remember laughing into the wind, with no one there to hear my voice but the universe and God himself. They came, each one more beautiful and perfect and oh what joy I found. I had stilled everything, each inner voice, each demand upon me, I had turned it all off and tuned into the ultimate frequency, that of the sun and the waves and the tide as it slipped slowly out. 

Two hours of bliss I spent, just feeling the life force of the water push and pull me. My birth sign is Cancer-the crab, and I can see now where I feel most alive, standing in the life force of an ocean blue amongst a million shells….at peace, yes, at peace in my birthplace, floating amongst the majestic blue. Today I found paradise and that makes me smile…all the difference in the world, what one moment can enlighten you to. 

Gnomebody knows the trouble I’ve seen (Postcard for John)

Dear John,

I am quite perplexed and have found myself in a muddle of trouble. See, I woke up this morning to a knock, at least I think it was a knock, on my back door so I mosey on back to see who it could be, because I have a fence and two big viscous beasts of a dog or two and an attack cat and nobody, I mean nobody, comes to the back door. No one can get through the fence, except the pool dude and he’s allowed, but I digress, I go to the back door and see no one there. So now I’m all confused and wondering if I’m perhaps losing my mind and then I look down and here are all these finger and handprints on the glass doors. Now my dogs and cat don’t have digits that small, nor would they ever dare leave anything but nose and tongue prints on said glass door, and all these water drip marks splashed all over the place. Humph, now I’m really a bit confused and I look over and what do I see?


A gnome I tell you, plain as day in my pool snorkeling. Well how the blazes did he get there I said to myself, after all, it’s kind of pushy I think to just go in someone’s pool and make a mess like that, so he doesn’t say a word to me, just gives me those goggle eyes and I walk around the side to make sure the fence is latched and what do I see?


I mean really? Now I hadn’t checked the fridge to see if any of the beer was gone, but heck, I dude here is inviting friends to a party I’m not even having, well then that’s rather rude don’tcha think? Did you send them? How did they find me? Must have been this guy…


Now I know you’ve got rabbits down under and kangaroos too so I think Ricky rabbit rider here must have rode all the way to the USofA, clear from wallaby central to spread the word that there’s some kind of shindig going down….now I know I should have held back in the eighties on experimenting with that chemical stuff in college but this is a bit much…..they are getting out of control and they don’t listen to me…kind of like my dogs it seems, and the dogs are having a ball whooping it up too….but it’s getting late and the music keeps getting louder and I think my new neighbs may call the posse in on me….hold on a sec…..”turn it down already!” Humph……


Well John, gotta run and try to quench this chaos, next time you drop by, I’ll remember to leave a light on for you…..it may distract them as I think they don’t like the light much….makes ’em kind of grumpy.


Sending peace and love, and please send me some aspirin, I think I feel a headache coming on…..Kim and the crew

Photo of gnome army found at:

The Rest found on Internet and Pinterest