Suspended

Drawn to the hole in the ceiling of my thoughts

The smallest place where the stars whisper secrets

Falling against the backdrop of night

These days overshadowed by a moon so bright.

I caught a glimpse of blue

Un impeded by the pushiness of clouds

Suspended I drift

Stopped at the glass above me,

Held in by the walls and the chill

Of a strange October day.

I look up the see the confetti

Leaves falling as far as the eye can see

And they mirror the soul as they meander their way

Touching down like tissue paper

See through shells of their yesterday

Faded to yellow and brown,

Having shed the Rose red gown

As they had lived one last day

Waving to the mere mortals down below

Never realizing the ball must end,

And here they sit

Reflective images of my thoughts,

Sitting idle pressed to a clear view

Outside peering in,

Waiting for the next journey to blow them away

Into the earth

Death that comes on another day.

12 thoughts on “Suspended

  1. Thanks Kat,
    Took that from the back sun room in the house, leaves watching me through the glass. I was happy with the results,the things you see when looking up😊☀️⭐️K

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Russ. I do so enjoy the Reds though, and miss them when gone, fading to pale yellow into brown these days or on so,e varieties of trees, already gone. Peace and blessings, K

    Like

  3. Thank you so much Sherrie, still finding myself intrigued by the fall colors, although the real vibrancy has been depleted, special moments can still make me smile😊🍁🍁

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My skylight in the sunroom….the sky kept changing and the leaves looked like little trapeze artists just hanging there. Thanks and thank you so kindly, K

    Like

Your words are stars and I humbly thank you for shining your light for me....